Expect better 3SC in 2016/2017 NPFL — Media Officer

The Media officer, Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC), Jubril Arowolo, on Tuesday said that the club’s fans should expect a better team for the 2016/2017 Nigeria professional Football League (NPFL).

Arowolo, speaking on the preparedness of the team for the new season, said the team was ready to compete well.

The former league power-house, had won the competition five times being winners in 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995 and 1998, as one of the most decorated football clubs in the league.

The team was also four times winners of the FA Cup in 1971 then as (WNDC) in 1977, 1979 and 1995.

Shooting Stars won the African Cup Winners’ Cup in 1976, becoming the first Nigerian side to win an international trophy.

In 1992, 3SC was crowned CAF Cup champions when it defeated Nakivubo of Uganda 3-0 in the final at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan.

The traditional club, however, has seen its fortune nosedive due to financial problems and was relegated to the lower league in 2006 but regained promotion to the elite division in 2009.

The Ibadan-based Oluyole warriors had battled relegation for two consecutive seasons in 2014/2015 and 2015/2016 seasons.

In 2014/2015, the team started the season with some strings of bad results before been rescued by Coach Gbenga Ogunbote.
Read More on Vanguardngr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *